News Ticker


Reclusion Perpetua


1. Reclusión perpetua – 20 years and 1 day to 40 years
2. Reclusión temporal – 12 years and 1 day to 20 years
3. Prisión mayor and temporary disqualification – 6 years and 1
   day to 12 years, except when disqualification is an accessory
   penalty, in which case its duration is that of the principal
4. Prisión correccional, suspension, and destierro – 6 months
   and 1 day to 6 years, except when suspension is an accessory
   penalty, in which case its duration is that of the principal
5. Arresto mayor – 1 month and 1 day to 6 months
6. Arresto menor – 1 day to 30 days
7. Bond to keep the peace – The period is discretionary on the court.


1. Destierro is a principal, divisible and correctional penalty.
2. Cases when destierro imposed:
   a. Serious physical injuries or death under exceptional
      circumstances (Art. 247)
   b. In case of failure to give bond for good behavior (Art. 284)
   c. As a penalty for the concubine in concubinage (Art. 334)
   d. In cases where after reducing the penalty by one or more
      degrees, destierro is the proper penalty.

Any person sentenced to any of the perpetual penalties shall be
pardoned after undergoing the penalty for thirty years, unless
such person by reason of his conduct or some other serious cause
shall be considered by the Chief Executive as unworthy of pardon.

accessory penalty
Disqualification As An Afflictive Penalty

Share This:

Post Tags:


I'm Bigwas. I have a degree in Criminology and Law.English is not my major. I'm a web developer by day and a blogger by night. I hope you learn something from my blog.

No Comment to " Reclusion Perpetua "

Post Any Question Or Correction

  • To add an Emoticons Show Icons
  • To add code Use [pre]code here[/pre]
  • To add an Image Use [img]IMAGE-URL-HERE[/img]
  • To add Youtube video just paste a video link like